Behind-the-Wheel

There are no driver education requirements for Tennessee residents, however, we are certified to perform the road test for the DOS. Taking the road test at Driver Training Inc. will eliminate stressful road tests with unfamiliar examiners. When you train with us you bypass lengthy waiting periods and reduce your anxiety by taking the road test with someone you are familiar and comfortable with.

This will allow you to see a definite benefit to your self confidence, driving skills and a reduction in your car insurance. We offer  6–60 minute sessions.

Please, call 866-981-5944  for appointments, Payments must be made in full before any Behind-the-Wheel classes are scheduled.

$260 – All ages, Behind-the-Wheel (6–60 minute sessions, all driving)

Upon submitting your registration, a confirmation email will be sent to the student’s email address provided during registration.  Parents please check with your student for further information.

REGISTER NOW!

Driver Education

A formal class that prepares a new driver to obtain a learner’s permit or driver’s license. Topics of instruction include traffic code or laws and vehicle operation. Instruction will warn of dangerous conditions in driving such as road conditions, driver impairments, and hazardous weather. Instructional videos will be shown, demonstrating proper driving strategies and the consequences for not observing the rules. 30–One Hour sessions in the classroom and 6– One Hour sessions In-Car.

30-60 minute periods of Classroom Education.
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 5:00 — 8:30 pm depending on class schedule and location.

Please, call 866-981-5944 to confirm class schedule.

$350 – All ages, recommended for Tennessee residents, Classroom (30–60 minute sessions and Behind-the-Wheel Instruction (6-60 min. periods).

Click here to see our schedule!

We give the knowledge test for obtaining a learner’s permit in Tennessee on the last day of classes.  If you would like to take a practice test online prior to taking your test for your learner’s, please click this link: http://dmv-permit-test.com/. Then, click on “Get started” and choose the state of Tennessee to begin your practice test.

  • 12/04/2017 - 01/03/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday
  • 02/05/2018 - 02/28/2018
    ETSU location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30
  • 02/05/2018 - 02/28/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday
  • 03/05/2018 - 03/28/2018
    Kingsport location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30
  • 04/02/2018 - 04/25/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday
  • 05/02/2018 - 05/30/2018
    Kingsport location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30
  • 05/07/2018 - 05/30/2018
    ETSU location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30
  • 06/04/2018 - 06/27/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday
  • 06/04/2018 - 06/27/2018
    Kingsport location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30
  • 07/02/2018 - 07/30/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday
  • 08/06/2018 - 08/29/2018
    Kingsport location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30
  • 08/06/2018 - 08/29/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday
  • 08/07/2018 - 08/30/2018
    ETSU location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Tuesday and Thursday 5:00-8:30
  • 10/01/2018 - 10/24/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday
  • 10/01/2018 - 10/24/2018
    Kingsport location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30
  • 11/05/2018 - 11/28/2018
    ETSU location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30
  • 11/28/2018 - 12/31/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat! Monday and Wednesday

Upon submitting your registration, a confirmation email will be sent to the student’s email address provided during registration.  Parents please check with your student for further information.

REGISTER NOW!

Driver Improvement Class

Volunteer, DOS or Court appointed course

Drivers that accumulate twelve (12) or more points on their driving record within any 12-month period are sent a notice of proposed suspension and given an opportunity to attend an administrative hearing. In most cases, when a driver requests a hearing, they are given the opportunity to attend a defensive driving class in lieu of suspension or a reduction of suspension time.

Drivers less than eighteen (18) years of age that accumulate six (6) or more points on their driving record within any twelve (12) month period are sent a notice of proposed suspension from the DOS and are placed in the Driver Improvement Program.

$85 – Tennessee Driver Improvement Course (8 hrs), this course is appropriate for all licensed drivers who received  a letter from the Tennessee DOS or would like to increase their positive driving points.

  • Students will receive a certificate at the end of their class.

$65Tennessee Driver Improvement (4 hrs), this course is for all licensed drivers who received a ticket in Tennessee

  • Students will receive a certificate at the end of their class.

Click here to see our schedule!

  • 12/16/2017 09:00 am - 01:00 pm
    4 Hour Course, Bristol location, Saturday
  • 12/16/2017 09:00 am - 05:30 pm
    8 Hour Course, Bristol location, Saturday
  • 12/28/2017 09:00 am - 01:00 pm
    4 Hour Course, Bristol location, Thursday
  • 12/28/2017 09:00 am - 05:30 pm
    8 Hour Course, Bristol location, Thursday

REGISTER NOW!

 

Boating Safety Education Certification

Any Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989 must show the TWRA-issued Boating Safety Education Certificate as proof of successful completion of the TWRA Boating Safety exam. It includes an eight hour class to prepare you for the exam, the exam, and after passing, and temporary certificate will be provided until valid one comes in the mail.

Saturday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm depending on class schedule.

Please, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule.

$30 – Classroom Only, in-person (4 hour course)

Currently we have no classes.

REGISTER NOW!

Comprehensive Driving, Gain Independence in Driving and Community Mobility

If an illness or injury has left you unable to drive, the Comprehensive Driving Program at Driver Training Inc. will help you get back on the road.  Driving and Community Mobility is one of the primary ways to regain lost independence.

Illness or injuries that can cause driving impairment includes:

  • Stroke
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Amputations
  • Orthopedic Injuries
  • Dementia / Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Other Chronic Health Issues

The Comprehensive Driving Program assesses a client’s physical, visual/perceptual and cognitive abilities needed for safe driving.  The driving evaluation requires the scheduling of two consecutive appointments.  The first appointment is for the in-clinic evaluation and the second appointment, when appropriate, is for the on the road evaluation.  The evaluation will be performed by a Certified Driver Rehabilitation Specialist (CDRS) who will provide the client with recommendations at the conclusion of all needed assessments

Education and training may be recommended to assist clients to become independent drivers. The training may be directed toward learning to operate adaptive equipment, correcting bad driving habits or vehicle consultation for appropriate fit for client’s use.  If driving is no longer recommended, the program can assist clients and their family in planning for alternative transportation options.

In order to participate in the program the client must obtain a doctor’s referral for OT evaluation/Driver’s Training and have a valid driver’s license/permit.  The client also must be seizure free or free of lapses of consciousness due to epilepsy, cardiac syncope, diabetes, or other conditions based on requirements of licensing by the State of Tennessee Department of Safety.  The program is not covered by insurance.  Costs estimations can be provided but not guaranteed as the cost will vary based on each client’s needs.

$500 – Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel Instruction,  all ages (36 – 60 min. periods)

$375 – Assessment, all ages. The driving evaluation requires the scheduling of two consecutive appointments

Please, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule.

REGISTER NOW!